What I Drive Now, What I’d Like to Drive

I have to admit that I use a walker. Well, not a walker per se, but a “rollator” — that’s a walker with wheels. I’ve worn one out (in 3 years in the garden) where the braised pipes broke at the braising (soldering?). Now I have a Hugo sold by Sam’s Club at a great $100+. It’s light, cheap, easy to lift into the car, steps, etc.

The Hugo Rollator

My biggest complaint is with the wheels. They aren’t big enough for muddy gardening. And they don’t really go over rocky or uneven ground that easily. When my cart is topped with a 20 gal plastic tub of weeds, I wish it were self-propelled because of the way it digs into the turf and slams into roots, or other unseen barriers. So I’ve been shopping and found the following rollator that has 4 wheels, but the two front are very close together and on a kind of shock absorber and advertized in video as bouncing up curbs and going easily over rocky landscape. Now, how would it do with a 20 gal filled tub of debris? And how about its price? $1100+  !!!

The Trionic Rollator

What do you think would be the vehicle I should get? Maybe I should get something else altogether?

About Shenandoah Kepler

Hi! I’m Shenandoah and I love to garden. I am becoming an ancient gardener, and am finding new ways to stay digging and enjoying the land.
This entry was posted in aging in place, garden, home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

